An Electrical Engineer by profession, Gayatri Nair served as Chief Engineer in the Kerala State Electricity Board and is now enjoying a retired life. Although she had written articles in technical journals during her career, her passion to write a full length novel remained dormant as her work environment did not offer her time to indulge in her lifelong passion. Now as she enjoys her retired life, her passion has moulded into her first novel, ‘As the Breeze Whistled Past…’

Here is an excerpt from her recent conversation:

Q. I would like you to share something about yourself with our readers.

I am an Electrical Engineer by Profession, presently enjoying a retired life after serving as Chief Engineer in the Kerala State Electricity Board. I have two children; both Engineers. My daughter, Arathy, lives with me in Ernakulam and my son, Deepak, is in Australia. My husband is Late K S Devan Nair.

‘As The Breeze Whistled Past…’ is my first Novel. I am now working on another one – Yet to be named.

Q. How did you come up with the idea of writing this genre?

At any age, I believe, romantic stories have got its own charm. So I wanted my first book to be linked with a universal theme.

Q. Where did you find the inspiration to write this book?

Ans: Writing a novel was a dream. For my first novel I decided to choose a theme which is simple, yet captivating.

Q. What exactly does your book convey?

There is a cosmic law that guides everyone’s life in this universe. It can be even termed as destiny.

Q. What all was going in your head while penning down this book?

In my life and career I have come across different types of people. Many a times I have noticed that many have had to compromise on their love and dream for the sake of family and career.

Gayatri Nair

Q. How much time you used to commit to this book?

Ans: There was no hard and fast time table. Whenever my mind felt like and ideas synchronized with the already structured story, I would translate it on to paper. It took me about five months to complete this book.

Q. Was there any moment you backed off from the idea of writing a book?

No, Never. I very much wanted to see the book completed.

Q. How do you handle the criticism that comes towards your way?

I take it in a positive spirit. Being a new writer, both appreciation and criticism can help me a lot to improve my next novel, which I have started working on.

Q. How was your experience with LeadStart throughout the publishing of the book?

Excellent. Right from the beginning the whole team was very co-operative. They patiently listened to my requirements and were always on the helping side, especially very considerate to a new writer like me.

Q. How do you like to advise budding authors?

Ans: Myself being a new writer, I am not experienced enough to give advice. But I would like to share that throughout the writing many ideas flow into your mind. The writer will have to be prudential enough to think from the perspective of a reader, in order to make one’s story appealing.

 

Check Out: Review of As The Breeze Whistled Past…

